The Chronicles Of A Wannabe Early Bird – Vol. 1: The Struggle

The Chronicles Of A Wannabe Early Bird

If you have been reading my posts over the past few months and/or know me personally you know that I am a creature of the night. I can’t do early mornings.don’t want to do early mornings.

(Read Also my January article for Rose Alley Magazine)

Being a nocturnal creature has major disadvantages though:

  • You sleep late, hence wake up super late. Duh.
  • You wake up not refreshed, in spite of getting 7-8 hours of sleep
  • You loose precious morning hours.
  • The world doesn’t function on the night-owl’s schedule
  • You don’t get vital morning sunlight hence run low on serotonin

And I could list a many more.

For all the reasons stated above and many more, I decided that 2016 would be the year I learn to embrace mornings!  I thought I wouldn’t be that difficult now, would it?

Wrong. So wrong.

For the last two weeks (29th Feb, 2016 to 13th Mar, 2016) I had vowed to wake up early. I didn’t really have unrealistic expectations that I would be waking up at 5 am with a smile on my face. The plan was to wake up a little bit earlier than I’m used to. Nothing major, maybe 15-30 minutes earlier. See? No sweat.

Newsflash: I failed. Terribly.

Initially I wondered whether writing this post is even worth it. I failed, so what’s the point anyway? But I want Introverted Extrovert to be a honest reflection of me – the good, the bad and the ugly.

So here I am, telling you that this pilot 2 week challenge went nothing as planned. But I am not devastated, I was going down that road  but stopped myself in time. I am not giving up yet, in fact I have the next phase of this transformation already planned. Stay tuned.

The major takeaways from this pilot phase were:

  • Need to create a night schedule
  • Need to relax before bedtime
  • Avoid phone right before bedtime
  • Re-start calming, pre-bedtime yoga

 

If there is some habit you are trying to change I would love to hear about it. Comment and share your story with me!

To read more of my adventures stay tuned and don’t forget to subscribe!

Until next time, xo

2 thoughts on “The Chronicles Of A Wannabe Early Bird – Vol. 1: The Struggle

Leave a Reply

