What The Cat Dragged In: Lessons From The Universe

cat universe lessons

I like to believe that nature has its ways and means of teaching us lessons. And always in perfect time! Don’t you love the way the universe functions?

Different people call it by different names. God, Higher Power, The Magic of the universe, etc. But one thing you have to agree, it works wonders managing to leave me awe-struck. Always.

All of this may or may not make sense to you. But I strongly believe in this universal magic and am always trying to be conscious of its workings. The vital key to understanding this magic is observing and trying to interpret what that means to you and your life. Nature/the universe is always sending us messages/lessons, all we have to do is open our eyes and see. I’d like to illustrate by sharing my experience.

Around two weeks ago, a hectic Sunday evening, I was in spring cleaning mode. Spring cleaning can be a little over-whelming when your little brother (who is not little anymore) refuses to part with junk because apparently it has sentimental value attached. Arrgh. So anyway, in between all the cleaning I stepped out into the balcony for a breath of fresh air. Right in front of my balcony is a neem tree. And perched on that neem tree was a cat! Honestly, I have never seen a cat perched on a tree. I was shocked, surprised how it got up and also a little worried about how it would get down. Whatever adrenaline had made it climb the tree had all seemed to vanish. It was nervously purring and at the same time trying hard not to loose balance. The tree isn’t fully grown and hence the top branches aren’t sturdy. The cat looked so scared and lonely up there and I felt bad for it. My mom told me not to worry, that it would figure out a way to get down itself. I was still scared. But half an hour later, it did manage to get down. Sure it faltered a few times, but it got down – all by itself.

Aren’t situations in our lives like this too? 

Just earlier this week, I faced a not-so-pretty situation in my own life. Unlike the cat I did have my parents and the boy who were there for me, but like the cat this is my battle. They can cheer me on and encourage me from the sidelines, but they cannot and will not fight my battles for me. Like the cat, I have to assess my own situation and do what is best for me. It may require a tremendous amount of changes to  be made on my part. It may require to stop and re-evaluate the consequences of my actions. It may require me to change my ways and habits that have been a part of me for the last 22 years. It definitely is scary and chances are I will make many mistakes on my way there.

But you gotta do what you gotta do. Especially when even the universe has sent you signs.

Do you believe in signs from the universe? Comment below and let me know of any experiences you’ve had!

Until next time, xo

Leave a Reply

