Recipe Review: Carrot Cake

Hola!

I am back with another Recipe Review. And while we’re on recipes a little announcement: I will be dedicating the 1st and 3rd Mondays of every month to a recipe. So get out your aprons, mark your calendars and stay tuned! 

The first time I read about carrot cake I was a little skecptical. Why would you put carrots in a cake? But the curiosity in me won and I decided to give it a try. Problem is I can bake this only during winters when we get those red ‘Delhi gajjar’, I’m not a fan of those orange ones. (Click here to see my other winter favourite recipe!)

I have made carrot cakes multiple times over the past few years and I always used the recipe from one of favourite websites Joy of Baking.

Everyone at home likes it. My friends like it. The boy likes it. But honestly I’m still not really happy.

The reason would be the eggs. The recipe asks for 4 eggs and I don’t like that. Don’t get me wrong, I love eggs. It’s just the egg-y smell I don’t like. Have even baked the cake with just 2 eggs and have also increased the amount of vanilla essence so as to mask the egg-y smell, but to no avail.

Maybe I just have a more sensitive nose. Other than this tiny little glitch, that only I seem to complain about, the recipe is perfect! The cake has the right texture. It’s moist and kinda dense. And the nuts go really well with the carrots.

Do give this recipe a try and let me know how it goes! If you’re using a microwave, the temperature and time mentioned in the recipe works well.

Also, any suggestions on the egg-y situation?

Carrot cake recipe

Until next time, xo

Leave a Reply

